

SCIENCE EDUCATION PRIVATE HEALTH SINCE 2007 Rudolf Brenneisen, Prof., PhD Secretary General SAPhS Frikartweg 9A, CH-3006 Bern info@saphw.ch www.saphw.ch

Regulations for the award of the Reichstein Medal by the Swiss Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences (SAPhS)

It is the stated goal of SAPhS to promote pharmaceutical sciences and scientists. This includes promoting their perception and recognition among the population. The awarding of the Reichstein Medal should contribute to this.

Willy Engel (deceased 2020), jeweller at the city of Thun, has created the Reichstein Medal on behalf of the Swiss Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences SGPhS. It is reminiscent of the merits of the Swiss chemist Tadeus Reichstein, who developed the synthesis of ascorbic acid (vitamin C) in 1932 and thus made its industrial production possible. Together with Edwin Kendall and Philip Hench, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1950 for his work in the field of NNR hormones, which eventually led to the isolation of the cortisone.

SAPhS is proud to give this award to two other Swiss Nobel Prize winners, Rolf Zinkernagel (1997; Nobel Prize in Medicine 1996) and Richard Ernst (2000; Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1991). Other winners were William Higuchi (1994), Werner Glatt (2002; Founder Glatt Industriegruppe), Jean-Pierre Lorent (2005; founder of the Swiss Tox Centre), as well as Gerd Folkers (2014; ETHZ and Collegium Helveticum).

See https://www.saphw.ch/en/awards/reichstein-medal for details.

In accordance with Article 19.p of the Statutes of the SAPhS, the Senate Board elects the Reichstein Medal winner. The election is based on the recommendation of a commission of experts, which includes other internationally recognised personalities in addition to the President and Vice-president for research of the SAPhS. The latter shall be invited and appointed by the President to participate in the Commission. The Senate Board has the right to propose suitable candidates to the expert committee. These proposals must be justified by the Senate board. The winner is chosen by a vote by the members of the Commission (simple majority).

The Reichstein Medal is awarded by the SAPhS to internationally recognized personalities who have made a direct or indirect special interest in promoting pharmaceutical sciences in the fields of research, teaching and practice.

In accordance with Article 16.f, the award is given by the Senate of the SAPhS. The Reichstein Medal is awarded irregularly every 5-10 years at a ceremony in the House of the University of Bern.

